UK MicroFest 2 Double CD

A double CD documenting UK MicroFest 2 which was held in the UK in 2007. Music by Gorton; Herriott; Desorgher; Bryan; Salinas; Visser and Fonville.



An astonishing CD from virtuoso German recorder player Andreas Böhlen. Music by Peter Eötvôs, Maki Ishi, Stuart Saunders, Donald Bousted and Wolfram Graf.


A Journey Among Travellers

“a series of tiny masterpieces. Wonders on so modest a scale tend to be in short supply these days.” The Wire

9 Quarter-Tone Pieces by Donald Bousted for two recorders, performed by Kathryn Bennetts and Peter Bowman


The End of the Beginning

CD/DVD of microtonal music by Donald Bousted performed by Alan Thomas (guitar), William Raaijman (saxophone), Rachel Barnes (Helder recorder), Tubalate (tubas), duo Contour (trumpet and percussion), Stephen Altoft (trumpet) and Donald Bousted (quarter-tone guitar).



“Stephen Altoft is an explorer who draws maps of musical terrain with his trumpet. The title track, his own composition Rasp, is a slow motion expansion from a breathy hiss to an intense broken buzz … The logic of the progression is as stark as the material itself: a fearless opening statement … announcing to the listener “this is what I work with.” (Max Christie, The Whole Note)

Stephen Altoft’s second solo CD in which he exclusively plays music written for his unique 19-division or 19 note-per-octave trumpet.



Four Comedic Studies

Four Comedic Studies is a quarter-tone structured piece for solo alto saxophone. It was written for the Dutch musician William Raaijman and first performed by him in Holland and the UK.  This recording, by William Raaijman, was produced by Donald Bousted in the studios of Kingston University, London, recording engineer Ben Bayliss.

24 Microtonal Studies – as performed by Stephen Altoft.  These are performances of the collection of studies in the Microtonal Trumpet Study Booklet (see below) – all £1.19

24 Microtonal Studies 1-4

24 Microtonal Studies 5-8

24 Microtonal Studies 9-12

24 Microtonal Studies 13-16

24 Microtonal Studies 17-20

24 Microtonal Studies 21-24

Still Life

Still Life was written by Oded Ben-Tal for Stephen Altoft and his quarter-tone microtonal trumpet. The Electronic component of Still Life includes both pre-composed ‘tape’ tracks and live responses.



The Microtonal Trumpet Study Booklet

Score of 24 Microtonal Studies in 19-, 24- and 48-divisions of the octave by Donald Bousted, fingered and edited by Stephen Altoft.

These studies form the centre piece of an extensive investigation into the microtonal possibilities of the trumpet by trumpeter Stephen Altoft and composer and microtonal theorist Donald Bousted. Extensive notes, playing tips and techniques can be downloaded free of charge at: The complete studies are recorded on CD MPR001 by Stephen Altoft which is also available from tutti.




The Evolution of Line

The Evolution of Line was written in 1997 by Donald Bousted for the electro-acoustic recorder of Philippe Bolton and it was first performed by Philippe Renard in Paris. It has also been performed in France, England, Switzerland, Germany and the USA. It was broadcast on France Musique in 1998. Eighth-tone structured.

“wonderful human vocal quality … effective way in which the sections start low and soft, working their way up to high-pitched primal screams.” The American Recorder


Four Comedic Studies

Four Comedic Studies is a virtuosic, quarter-tone structured, piece for solo alto saxophone written in 1991 for the Dutch musician William Raaijman. The duration is 9 minutes.


12 Quarter and Eighth-Tone Pieces

The purpose of this set of pieces, by Donald Bousted, is to present challenging, but not over-extended, works for the serious student or professional using structured quarter-tone and (in two pieces) eighth-tone techniques.


A Journey Among Travellers

9 Quarter-tone pieces for 2 recorders by Donald Bousted. This edition edited by Kathryn Bennetts and Peter Bowman.


Five Quarter- and Eighth-Tone Pieces

5 Quarter-Tone Pieces (1997), Donald Bousted, are advanced solo pieces written for Alto and Tenor recorders. Numbers 1 and 3 have been performed several times by Rachel Barnes, who premiered both at the British Music Information Centre.